Jason DavisMay 19, 2015

In Pictures: LightSail’s Rocket Rolls to the Launch Pad

The Planetary Society’s LightSail spacecraft is now sitting on the launch pad at Cape Canaveral Air Force Station’s Launch Complex 41. At 9:00 a.m. EDT (13:00 UTC), the United Launch Alliance Atlas V rocket left its Vertical Integration Facility and began a slow roll to the pad. About an hour later, it was in position over the flame trench for tomorrow’s flight. Launch is scheduled between 10:45 a.m. and 2:45 p.m. EDT (14:45 to 18:45 UTC).

LightSail website

Visit our LightSail Mission Control Center

For all the latest LightSail updates, including a live launch video feed courtesy of United Launch Alliance, visit our Mission Control Center at sail.planetary.org.

Atlas V LightSail Rollout 1
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 1 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 2
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 2 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 3
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 3 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 4
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 4 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 5
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 5 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 6
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 6 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 7
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 7 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 8
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 8 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 9
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 9 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 10
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 10 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 11
Atlas V LightSail Rollout 11 Navid Baraty / The Planetary Society

"We're changing the world. Are you in?"
- CEO Bill Nye

Sign up for email updates