Emily LakdawallaMay 02, 2013

Planetary Society Weekly Hangout (Special Time): MESSENGER at Mercury with Larry Nittler, Fri May 3 5pm PDT / midnight UTC

Join me on Friday at 5pm Pacific / 8pm Eastern / midnight UTC for the Planetary Society's weekly hangout. Note the special time! In this week's show I'll talk with MESSENGER deputy principal investigator Larry Nittler about what MESSENGER has accomplished in its prime and extended missions at Mercury, and what it stands to do if awarded a mission extension.

Announcement: If you missed Wednesday's Hangout with Dante Lauretta, the recording has been fixed! Go here to watch it.

The video is embedded below. It will not play until the broadcast starts. If it does not appear for you, please refresh the page or just go to Youtube. Once the show is over, you can watch the recording here. You can ask questions here, on Twitter with hashtag #planetarylive, or on comments on the Youtube page for the video, and I'll relay them to my guest.

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch this video.

Mercury in color from MESSENGER
Mercury in color from MESSENGER As it departed from its second flyby of Mercury, MESSENGER snapped a color mosaic of the planet using its wide-angle camera; this version is a four-frame (2x2) mosaic of images captured through the red, green, and blue filters. Mercury's color variations are very subtle. This view consisted almost entirely of territory not previously seen from a spacecraft and included a spectacular set of rays radial to a small impact crater located near Mercury's north pole that was later named Hokusai. NASA / JHUAPL / CIW / color mosaic by Jason Perry

"We're changing the world. Are you in?"
- CEO Bill Nye

Sign up for email updates