Emily LakdawallaMar 19, 2010

Akatsuki arrives at Tanegashima Space Center

The Akatsuki spacecraft (also known as PLANET-C or Venus Climate Orbiter) arrived this evening, Japanese time, at the Tanegashima Space Center. It will now be mated with its launch vehicle. Launch of Akatsuki and IKAROS is currently planned for 59 days from today, on Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 06:44:14 a.m. JST (May 17 21:44:14 UTC or 14:44:14 PDT). I'll keep the website updated with news on the mission's preparations for launch!

Have you added your message to IKAROS yet? You have until Monday!

Exploration Changes Everything

Keep space science going strong. Take action for space and make your voice heard by telling elected officials to make space a priority.

Take Action