Emily LakdawallaDec 02, 2013

Comet ISON Hangouts November 25 and December 2

Alex Filippenko and I talked with Chuck Beuter about ISON's performance last week:

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch this video.

Don't miss the comet ISON live blog that Bruce Betts and I maintained last week. I'll be madly updating those animations today.

Here's the recording for the previous week's Hangout with Ron Kaitchuck, hosted by Comet Festival South Bend, to discuss comet ISON's plunge toward the Sun. I'll be participating in a second one of these next Monday at 9:00 PT / 12:00 ET / 17:00 UT.

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch this video.

Here's a graphic showing ISON's predicted path:

Comet ISON's predicted path through SOHO LASCO fields of view
Comet ISON's predicted path through SOHO LASCO fields of view SOHO's LASCO C2 and C3 coronagraphs are expected to have a good view of comet ISON as it passes through their fields of view. From SOHO's viewpoint, the comet enters from the lower right early on November 27 and exits towards the top near the end of November 30. ESA / NASA / SOHO

"We're changing the world. Are you in?"
- CEO Bill Nye

Sign up for email updates