Join Donate

The Bruce Murray Space Image Library

The Solar System's Major Moons

The Solar System's Major Moons

Click to view full image

NASA / JPL-Caltech / Montage by Emily Lakdawalla. The Moon: Gari Arrillaga. Processing by Ted Stryk, Gordan Ugarkovic, Emily Lakdawalla, and Jason Perry.

The Solar System's Major Moons
The Solar System contains 18 or 19 natural satellites of planets that are large enough for self-gravity to make them round. (Why the uncertain number? Neptune’s moon Proteus is on the edge.) They are shown here to scale with each other. Two of them are larger than Mercury; seven are larger than Pluto and Eris. If they were not orbiting planets, many of these worlds would be called “planets,” and scientists who study them are called “planetary scientists.”

Permission is freely granted to reuse this graphic for educational purposes, though we would like to hear from you if you do!

Email me if you wish me to add text, or to arrange them differently.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License. For uses not allowed by that license, contact us to request publication permission from the copyright holder: Emily Lakdawalla : Gordan Ugarkovic : Jason Perry : Ted Stryk

Explore related images: Enceladus, Dione, Tethys, Titan, Rhea, Iapetus, Mimas, Io, Europa, scale comparisons, data art (was amateur image processing), Ganymede, Callisto, the Moon, BMSIL, Cassini, the solar system, Galileo, Voyager 1 and 2, astrophoto (photo of space taken from ground), many worlds, Proteus, infographic, photo taken from space, pretty pictures, Triton

Comments & Sharing
More Images
Bill Nye and people
Let's Change the World

Become a member of The Planetary Society and together we will create the future of space exploration.

Join Today

Bruce Murray and Carl Sagan
Pretty Pictures

Support the Bruce Murray Space Image Library and help us share the wonders of other worlds.


"We're changing the world. Are you in?"
- CEO Bill Nye

I'm In!