Rosetta's end-of-mission trajectory

Rosetta's end-of-mission trajectory
Rosetta's end-of-mission trajectory A simplified overview of Rosetta’s last week of maneuvers at Comet 67P/Churyumov–Gerasimenko (comet rotation is not considered). After 24 September the spacecraft will leave the flyover orbits and transfer towards an initial point of a 16 x 23 km orbit that will be used to prepare for the final descent. The collision course maneuver will take place in the evening of 29 September, initiating the descent from an altitude of about 20 km. The impact is expected to occur at 10:40 UTC (±20 minutes) at the comet which, taking into account the 40 minute signal travel time between Rosetta and Earth on 30 September, means the confirmation would be expected at mission control at 04:20 PDT / 11:20 UTC / 13:20 CEST (±20 minutes). ESA

"We're changing the world. Are you in?"
- CEO Bill Nye

Sign up for email updates