Jason DavisJul 06, 2016

Multimedia roundup: Flawless ride to orbit for Expedition 48 crew

Kate Rubins, Takuya Onishi and Anatoly Ivanishin are safely in orbit following an early morning liftoff from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan. Riding in an upgraded Soyuz MS-01 spacecraft, the trio blasted off at 9:36 p.m. EDT Wednesday (1:36 UTC Thursday). The Expedition 48 crew will spend two days on orbit helping Russian ground controllers test out the new vehicle's systems before arriving at the International Space Station early Saturday morning. 

NASA TV

Further reading: Expedition 48 preview article

Docking: 12:12 a.m. EDT (4:12 UTC) July 9
NASA TV coverage begins 11:30 p.m. EDT July 8

Hatches open at about 2:50 a.m. EDT July 9

Here's the launch video:

Please accept marketing-cookies to watch this video.

And here's your feature photo. Fantastic framing by NASA photographer Bill Ingalls!

Expedition 48 launch
Expedition 48 launch Kate Rubins, Takuya Onishi and Anatoly Ivanishin ride a Soyuz MS-01 spacecraft into orbit after launching from the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan on July 7, 2016. NASA / Bill Ingalls

Here are more images from NASA's Flickr gallery. The traditional orthodox blessing:

Expedition 48 Soyuz Blessing (NHQ201607060001)

The crew boards their Soyuz:

Expedition 48 Wave Farewell (NHQ201607070001)

The "all-for-one" pose:

Expedition 48 Crew Press Conference (NHQ201607060002)

And another launch shot:

Expedition 48 Launch (NHQ201607070002)

Roscosmos also posted a few rare crew boarding shots, and a picture from the top of the launch tower: 

Finally, the views from Mission Control in Houston:

"We're changing the world. Are you in?"
- CEO Bill Nye

Sign up for email updates