Planetary Video • Planetary Post

The Planetary Post - The Cosmos Award

This content is hosted by a third party (, which uses marketing cookies. Please accept marketing cookies to watch this video.

What is the Cosmos Award? The Planetary Society created this award, named after our co-founder Carl Sagan's landmark television series, Cosmos, to honor the innovators who follow his example of presenting science in an accurate, yet entertaining and enthralling way. The award itself, a blown glass model of Saturn complete with atmospheric bands and detailed ring features, is made especially for The Planetary Society by space artists Joy Alyssa Day and B.E. Johnson.

Past recipients of the Cosmos Award for Outstanding Public Presentation of Science include filmmaker James Cameron, for his stellar IMAX films, Paula Apsell, senior executive producer of the Emmy-award winning series NOVA, Dr. Stephen Hawking, for his lifetime of dedication to engaging the public on the most profound questions of our existence, and Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, for his outstanding work on the television series Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey.

The winner of 2016 Cosmos Award was presented to Dr. Alan Stern and the New Horizons team for their captivating storytelling during their historic Pluto flyby mission.

Our monthly newsletter, The Planetary Post with Robert Picardo, features fascinating behind-the-scenes news and information about space exploration and our work at The Planetary Society. Sign up today at