Join Donate

Jason DavisJune 25, 2016

Quick multimedia roundup: China's new rocket blasts off on inaugural mission

China's new Long March 7 rocket blasted off on its inaugural mission today at 8:00 p.m. Beijing time (12:00 UTC, 7:00 a.m. EDT). The rocket successfully placed a small-scale human spaceflight capsule demonstrator into orbit, which will reportedly land near the Jiuquan Satellite Launch Center in Inner Mongolia tomorrow.

You can read our preview story about the Long March 7 flight, which also christened China's new Wenchang Satellite Launch Center on Hainan, here: 

All about China's new rocket and spaceport, which may see action this Saturday

Here's a quick multimedia roundup:

Long March 7 inaugural liftoff

Xinhuanet.com

Long March 7 inaugural liftoff
Long March 7 inaugural liftoff

Xinhuanet.com

Long March 7 inaugural liftoff

Here are the video highlights from CCTV news:

And here's a repost of the full launch:

#LongMarch7 launch from T-1 minute to upper stage separation: https://t.co/zGSVXY4YCp

— Cosmic Penguin (@Cosmic_Penguin) June 25, 2016

A local tourist also captured a really nice video (NASASpaceflight.com editor Chris Bergin says this was one of his website's members; kudos as usual to NSF for their worldwide reach):

Finally, don't miss more pictures from Chinese social media in the Twitter feeds of Andrew Jones and China Space Report; I'd post those images here but since I don't have direct links to the sources, I'm less certain about any copyright restrictions.

Read more: Chinese human spaceflight, pretty pictures

You are here:
Jason Davis headshot v.3
Jason Davis

Journalist and Digital Editor for The Planetary Society
Read more articles by Jason Davis

Comments & Sharing
MER
Let's Change the World

Become a member of The Planetary Society and together we will create the future of space exploration.

Join Today

Mars
Advocacy

Our Advocacy Program provides each Society member a voice in the process. Funding is crucial.

Donate