Help Shape the Future of Space Exploration

Join The Planetary Society Now  arrow.png

Join our eNewsletter for updates & action alerts

    Please leave this field empty
Blogs

See other posts from May 2012

Headshot of Jason Davis

Dragon packed and ready for reentry

Posted by Jason Davis

2012/05/30 01:51 CDT

Topics: shuttle successor, International Space Station, private spaceflight

After spending nearly a week connected to the International Space Station, SpaceX’s Dragon is ready to head home. Astronauts aboard the station have unloaded and repacked the private spacecraft -- the first to visit the ISS -- and will begin unberthing procedures tomorrow morning. Splashdown in the Pacific Ocean is scheduled for Thursday at 11:44AM EDT (15:44 UTC). If successful, Dragon's arrival will mark the first time an American spacecraft has returned from the ISS since space shuttle Atlantis in July 2011.

Soyuz reflected in Dragon solar array

NASA / ESA / Andre Kuipers

Soyuz reflected in Dragon solar array
In this picture by ESA astronaut André Kuipers, a reflection of one of the Soyuz capsules docked at the ISS can be seen in the Dragon spacecraft's solar array.

After Dragon’s hatch is closed, the vestibule connecting the vehicle to the station will be depressurized. Here is the schedule for the subsequent unberthing on Thursday morning:

  • 2:30AM EDT (6:30 UTC) NASA TV coverage begins
  • 4:05AM EDT (8:05 UTC) Canadarm2 unberths Dragon
  • 5:35AM EDT (9:35 UTC) Dragon is released

Once floating free from the station, the Dragon will begin a series of burns to take it down the R-bar, the imaginary line connecting the ISS with the center of the Earth. The spacecraft will close its GNC (guidance, navigation and control) bay door, which contains the fixture Don Pettit grappled with Canadarm2 when the Dragon arrived.

Dragon reentry schematic

NASA

Dragon reentry schematic
The Dragon spacecraft will conduct a series of burns to carry it away from the space station on Thursday, May 31, 2012.

The final challenge of SpaceX’s COTS (Commercial Orbital Transportation Services) demo flight will begin when the the Dragon initiates a de-orbit burn to reenter the Earth’s atmosphere. NASA flight director Holly Ridings said that the station crew has been told where to look for the resulting plasma trail, but since reentry will occur in daylight, it is unlikely the crew will witness the fiery show.

Here is the reentry timeline:

  • 10:15AM EDT (14:15 UTC) NASA TV coverage begins
  • 10:51AM EDT (14:51 UTC) Dragon initiates deorbit burn
  • Trunk jettisoned
  • Drogue chutes deployed
  • Main chutes deployed
  • 11:44AM EDT (15:44 UTC) Splashdown in Pacific Ocean (907 statute kilometers southwest of Los Angeles, California)
  • Recovery of Dragon capsule at sea
  • 2:00PM EDT (18:00 UTC) NASA TV coverage of Dragon mission status briefing

SpaceX mission director John Couluris said that SpaceX’s recovery vessels are operated by American Marine, which will operate out of Los Angeles. Although the forecast looks favorable for splashdown, the ships are equipped to recover the capsule in a variety of weather conditions. Couluris also said they have slightly higher operational constraints than the vessels used to recover NASA's Apollo capsules. The reentry has been timed so as to maximize the amount of daylight available for sea operations.

Once SpaceX delivers the Dragon’s cargo to NASA, they will have completed the necessary COTS milestones to begin official ISS resupply missions later this year. The next Falcon 9 rocket is already in Cape Canaveral, and its matching Dragon capsule is being processed in SpaceX’s Hawthorne plant.

I will continue to post periodic updates on my blog, and via my Twitter account, as the mission progresses.

 

Or read more blog entries about: shuttle successor, International Space Station, private spaceflight

Comments:

bware: 05/30/2012 07:17 CDT

Thanks for the info and the time lines. This flight reminds me of watching the first Surveyor and the Gemini and A.P.O.L.L.O. flight tests. Impressive! fits all of these!

Leave a Comment:

You must be logged in to submit a comment. Log in now.
Facebook Twitter Email RSS AddThis

Blog Search

JOIN THE
PLANETARY SOCIETY

Our Curiosity Knows No Bounds!

Become a member of The Planetary Society and together we will create the future of space exploration.

Join Us

Featured Images

Curiosity departs Earth

Mars Science Laboratory on its way
Asteroid 2005 YU55
NGC 6960, The Veil Nebula
More Images

Featured Video

View Larger »

Fly to an Asteroid!

Travel to Bennu on the OSIRIS-REx spacecraft!

Send your name

Join the New Millennium Committee

Let’s invent the future together!

Become a Member

Connect With Us

Facebook! Twitter! Google+ and more…
Continue the conversation with our online community!