Help Shape the Future of Space Exploration

Join The Planetary Society Now  arrow.png

Join our eNewsletter for updates & action alerts

    Please leave this field empty
Blogs

Headshot of Jason Davis

New crew arrives at station for holidays

Posted by Jason Davis

21-12-2012 11:26 CST

Topics: mission status, human spaceflight, International Space Station, Russian human spaceflight

The International Space Station is back to a six-person crew for the holidays following the arrival of NASA astronaut Tom Marshburn, Canadian Space Agency astronaut Chris Hadfield and Russian Federal Space Agency cosmonaut Roman Romanenko. Hatches on the station's Rassvet module were opened at 11:37 a.m. EST (1537 UTC) as the station cruised silently over the South Pacific. 

Warm welcome for Soyuz TMA-07M

NASA TV

Warm welcome for Soyuz TMA-07M
The new crewmembers of Expedition 34 gather inside the station for traditional welcome calls from Earth. Front, from left: Chris Hadfield, Roman Romanenko and Tom Marshburn. Rear, from left: Kevin Ford, Oleg Novitskiy and Evgeny Tarelkin.

Greeting the crew of Soyuz TMA-07M was NASA commander Kevin Ford and Russian flight engineers Oleg Novitskiy and Evgeny Tarelkin. The six crewmembers gathered inside the station for their traditional welcome call from ground controllers, space agency officials and family members. 

The second half of Expedition 34 began with a chilly Wednesday launch from Baikonur, Kazhakstan at 6:12 p.m. local time (7:12 a.m. EST, 1212 UTC). Temperatures hovered around zero degrees Fahrenheit (minus 17 degrees Celsius) at liftoff, with wind chills as low as minus 30. Once in space, the Soyuz capsule closed on the orbital outpost for two days, docking Friday morning at 9:09 a.m. EST (1409 UTC) over Northern Kazhakstan. 

Expedition 34 lasts through March 2013, when Ford, Novitskiy and Tarelkin return to Earth. At that point, Chris Hadfield will take command of the station, marking the first time a Canadian has been in charge of the ISS.

 
See other posts from December 2012

 

Or read more blog entries about: mission status, human spaceflight, International Space Station, Russian human spaceflight

Comments:

Leave a Comment:

You must be logged in to submit a comment. Log in now.
Facebook Twitter Email RSS AddThis

Blog Search

LightSail - Flight by Light

Support LightSail!

In 2016, The Planetary Society’s LightSail program will take the technology a step further.

I want to help!

Featured Images

Drill hole at Confidence Hills, Curiosity sol 759

Drilling at Confidence Hills, Curiosity sols 755-759
Curiosity at Pahrump Hills, sol 753
The Base of Mount Sharp, Curiosity sol 752
More Images

Featured Video

View Larger »

Fly to an Asteroid!

Travel to Bennu on the OSIRIS-REx spacecraft!

Send your name

Join the New Millennium Committee

Let’s invent the future together!

Become a Member

Connect With Us

Facebook! Twitter! Google+ and more…
Continue the conversation with our online community!