Join Donate

Emily LakdawallaSeptember 29, 2014

Brief mission update: Hayabusa2 has a launch date!

JAXA announced the launch date for their Hayabusa2 asteroid sample return mission today: November 30 at 13:24:48 Japan standard time (04:24:48 UT / November 29 at 20:24:48 PST). This is slightly earlier than I expected (JAXA has, for a long time, just specified a "December" launch date.) The H2A rocket will launch, as usual, from the Tanegashima launch complex. I thank Junya Terazono for the news! Here are two sites (in Japanese) that may carry updates on mission status: moonstation.jp, and fanfun.jaxa.jp. The latter is already running a countdown clock: Just 61 days to launch! He also shared this link to a PDF launch press kit, containing launch timeline information and other details about the instruments and subsatellites to be launched with Hayabusa2, including ARTSAT2-DESPATCH and PROCYON. I'll work on translating this information and post key elements it closer to the launch date.

Go Hayabusa2!

Hayabusa2 at Asteroid

JAXA / Akihiro Ikeshita

Hayabusa2 at Asteroid
Hayabusa2 will arrive at an asteroid in 2018 to investigate it for one and half years, before returning to Earth in 2020.

Read more: Hayabusa2, mission status

You are here:
Headshot of Emily Lakdawalla (2017, alternate)
Emily Lakdawalla

Senior Editor and Planetary Evangelist for The Planetary Society
Read more articles by Emily Lakdawalla

Comments & Sharing
MER
Let's Change the World

Become a member of The Planetary Society and together we will create the future of space exploration.

Join Today

Emily Lakdwalla
The Planetary Fund

Support enables our dedicated journalists to research deeply and bring you original space exploration articles.

Donate