Help Shape the Future of Space Exploration

Join The Planetary Society Now  arrow.png

Join our eNewsletter for updates & action alerts

    Please leave this field empty
Blogs

Headshot of Emily Lakdawalla

Planetary Society Weekly Hangout (Special Time): MESSENGER at Mercury with Larry Nittler, Fri May 3 5pm PDT / midnight UTC

Posted by Emily Lakdawalla

02-05-2013 19:00 CDT

Topics: explaining science, events and announcements, podcasts and videos, Mercury, MESSENGER

Join me on Friday at 5pm Pacific / 8pm Eastern / midnight UTC for the Planetary Society's weekly hangout. Note the special time! In this week's show I'll talk with MESSENGER deputy principal investigator Larry Nittler about what MESSENGER has accomplished in its prime and extended missions at Mercury, and what it stands to do if awarded a mission extension.

Announcement: If you missed Wednesday's Hangout with Dante Lauretta, the recording has been fixed! Go here to watch it.

The video is embedded below. It will not play until the broadcast starts. If it does not appear for you, please refresh the page or just go to Youtube. Once the show is over, you can watch the recording here. You can ask questions here, on Twitter with hashtag #planetarylive, or on comments on the Youtube page for the video, and I'll relay them to my guest.

Mercury in color from MESSENGER

NASA / JHUAPL / CIW / color mosaic by Jason Perry

Mercury in color from MESSENGER
As it departed from its second flyby of Mercury, MESSENGER snapped a color mosaic of the planet using its wide-angle camera; this version is a four-frame (2x2) mosaic of images captured through the red, green, and blue filters. Mercury's color variations are very subtle. This view consisted almost entirely of territory not previously seen from a spacecraft and included a spectacular set of rays radial to a small impact crater located near Mercury's north pole.
 
See other posts from May 2013

 

Or read more blog entries about: explaining science, events and announcements, podcasts and videos, Mercury, MESSENGER

Comments:

MrPhacops: 05/02/2013 04:27 CDT

Q: Messenger is closer to the Sun than most spacecraft. Is there cooperations / will there be projects with heliophysicists/ solar radioastronomers? Can any instrument be used to explicitly collect any signals/data sets which are not from Mercury but from the Sun?

KS Craig: 05/03/2013 07:50 CDT

Please discuss what has been observed at the antipodal area of the Caloris Basin as well as features in the Caloris basin. What is the plan for close up observations for the next extended mission? Is there communications with the Beppi Columbo team and what does that entail?

Leave a Comment:

You must be logged in to submit a comment. Log in now.
Facebook Twitter Email RSS AddThis

Blog Search

JOIN THE
PLANETARY SOCIETY

Our Curiosity Knows No Bounds!

Become a member of The Planetary Society and together we will create the future of space exploration.

Join Us

Featured Images

Curiosity wheel survey, sol 708

Curiosity mobility system, labeled
Diagram of a Curiosity wheel
Mars in July/August 2014
More Images

Featured Video

View Larger »

Fly to an Asteroid!

Travel to Bennu on the OSIRIS-REx spacecraft!

Send your name

Join the New Millennium Committee

Let’s invent the future together!

Become a Member

Connect With Us

Facebook! Twitter! Google+ and more…
Continue the conversation with our online community!