Join Donate

Emily LakdawallaDecember 2, 2013

Comet ISON Hangouts November 25 and December 2

Alex Filippenko and I talked with Chuck Beuter about ISON's performance last week:

Don't miss the comet ISON live blog that Bruce Betts and I maintained last week. I'll be madly updating those animations today.


Here's the recording for the previous week's Hangout with Ron Kaitchuck, hosted by Comet Festival South Bend, to discuss comet ISON's plunge toward the Sun. I'll be participating in a second one of these next Monday at 9:00 PT / 12:00 ET / 17:00 UT.

Here's a graphic showing ISON's predicted path:

Comet ISON's predicted path through SOHO LASCO fields of view

ESA / NASA / SOHO

Comet ISON's predicted path through SOHO LASCO fields of view
SOHO's LASCO C2 and C3 coronagraphs are expected to have a good view of comet ISON as it passes through their fields of view. From SOHO's viewpoint, the comet enters from the lower right early on November 27 and exits towards the top near the end of November 30.

Read more: comets, podcasts and videos, solar observing spacecraft

You are here:
Headshot of Emily Lakdawalla
Emily Lakdawalla

Senior Editor and Planetary Evangelist for The Planetary Society
Read more articles by Emily Lakdawalla

Comments & Sharing
MER
Let's Change the World

Become a member of The Planetary Society and together we will create the future of space exploration.

Join Today

Mars
Advocacy

Our Advocacy Program provides each Society member a voice in the process. Funding is crucial.

Donate