Help Shape the Future of Space Exploration

Join The Planetary Society Now  arrow.png

Join our eNewsletter for updates & action alerts

    Please leave this field empty

Headshot of Emily Lakdawalla

Virtual Star Parties

Posted by Emily Lakdawalla

28-06-2012 24:02 CDT

Topics: podcasts and videos, astronomy, amateur astronomers, optical telescopes

For a while now, Fraser Cain has been conducting Cosmoquest "Virtual Star Parties" through Google+ hangouts. There's a regularly scheduled one every Sunday evening ("no earlier than 7pm Pacific / 10pm Eastern / 3am + 1d GMT / 2pm +1d Sydney") but they seem to conduct impromptu ones quite a bit more frequently than that.

This is just one of three regular Cosmoquest Google+ hangouts. The other two are the Weekly Science Hangout that I or Pamela conduct on Wednesdays (4pm PDT / 7pm EDT / 2300 UT), in which we interview one scientist or engineers; and the Space Hangout hosted by Fraser with a slew of other space bloggers (including, occasionally, me) on Thursdays at 10am PDT / 1pm EDT / 1700 UT. In fact, this would probably be a good time to mention that I'm planning to participate in tomorrow's Space Hangout. Tune in at

But the reason I'm posting now is because of this awesome promotional video produced by Google, an abbreviated version of which keynote speaker Vic Gondotra showed during the keynote speech at their mega-popular developer conference, Google I/O. Way to go, Fraser!

See other posts from June 2012


Or read more blog entries about: podcasts and videos, astronomy, amateur astronomers, optical telescopes


Leave a Comment:

You must be logged in to submit a comment. Log in now.
Facebook Twitter Email RSS AddThis

Blog Search


Advocate for Space!

Fifteen years ago, Society members and passionate space advocates like you helped save the Pluto mission. Now we can do the same for missions to Europa and Mars.

Join over 27,600 people who have completed their petition and consider a donation to support advocacy efforts.

Sign Our Petition

Featured Images

Comparison of Kaguya Terrain Camera and Apollo 17 images
Color global portrait of Charon from Ralph MVIC
Pluto and Charon in enhanced color from Ralph MVIC
Apollo 12 Earthrise
More Images

Featured Video

A Perfect, Clear Day: LightSail's Launch

Watch Now

Fly to an Asteroid!

Send your name and message on Hayabusa-2.

Send your name

Selfies to Space!

Take flight with a selfie on LightSail™ in 2016!

Send a Selfie Now

Connect With Us

Facebook! Twitter! Google+ and more…
Continue the conversation with our online community!