Help Shape the Future of Space Exploration

Join The Planetary Society Now  arrow.png

Join our eNewsletter for updates & action alerts

    Please leave this field empty

Headshot of Emily Lakdawalla

Akatsuki arrives at Tanegashima Space Center

Posted by Emily Lakdawalla

19-03-2010 15:57 CDT

Topics: mission status, Akatsuki (Planet-C)

The Akatsuki spacecraft (also known as PLANET-C or Venus Climate Orbiter) arrived this evening, Japanese time, at the Tanegashima Space Center. It will now be mated with its launch vehicle. Launch of Akatsuki and IKAROS is currently planned for 59 days from today, on Tuesday, May 18, 2010 at 06:44:14 a.m. JST (May 17 21:44:14 UTC or 14:44:14 PDT). I'll keep the website updated with news on the mission's preparations for launch!

Have you added your message to IKAROS yet? You have until Monday!

See other posts from March 2010


Or read more blog entries about: mission status, Akatsuki (Planet-C)


Leave a Comment:

You must be logged in to submit a comment. Log in now.
Facebook Twitter Email RSS AddThis

Blog Search

Essential Advocacy

Our Advocacy Program provides each Society member a voice in the process.

Funding is critical. The more we have, the more effective we can be, translating into more missions, more science, and more exploration.


Featured Images

Comparison of Schiaparelli and Opportunity landing locations
Mars Reconnaissance Orbiter Context Camera image of Curiosity landing site
Schiaparelli landing site, after landing attempt
Ewen Whitaker
More Images

Featured Video

The Planetary Post - Star Trek 50th Anniversary

Watch Now

Space in Images

Pretty pictures and
awe-inspiring science.

See More

Join The Planetary Society

Let’s explore the cosmos together!

Become a Member

Connect With Us

Facebook, Twitter, YouTube and more…
Continue the conversation with our online community!