Join Donate

Emily LakdawallaSeptember 5, 2013

LADEE prelaunch facts

Are you ready for LADEE to launch tomorrow? Launch is scheduled for September 6, 2013 at 8:27 p.m. PDT (September 7 at 03:27 UTC).Tomorrow morning, I will be on National Public Radio's On Point at about 8:45 a.m. PDT / 15:45 UT, talking about LADEE.

You can watch the launch live in several places. We, of course, recommend the live Planetary Radio show that will be taking place at the Crawford Family Forum here in Pasadena from 7:30 p.m. PDT / 02:30 UT, and which will be webcast for your enjoyment. You can also find live coverage on NASA TV and on NASA EDGE beginning at 6:30 p.m. PDT / 01:30 UT. Spaceflight Now will do their usual excellent online coverage as well.

LADEE

NASA Ames / Dana Berry

LADEE

Before any launch, NASA prepares a press kit that is intended to answer all the questions they can anticipate media asking about the upcoming mission. These press kits are great resource for the public, too. You can download the LADEE press kit from this website, where you'll also find press kits and fact sheets on the Minotaur V and laser communications.

But you don't have to, because I just read the press kit and came up with this cheat sheat for you. Enjoy!

How do I plan to watch the launch? Well, I was invited a while ago to go camping on the beach with a bunch of friends, and I'll be taking my daughter with me -- her first night under the stars. So I'm sorry I won't be covering the event live for you, but I expect to be surreptitiously checking in on the SpaceflightNow Twitter feed on my phone from time to time to see how the launch is going!

Go LADEE! Go Minotaur!

Read more: mission status, LADEE

You are here:
Headshot of Emily Lakdawalla (2017, alternate)
Emily Lakdawalla

Senior Editor and Planetary Evangelist for The Planetary Society
Read more articles by Emily Lakdawalla

Comments & Sharing
MER
Let's Change the World

Become a member of The Planetary Society and together we will create the future of space exploration.

Join Today

Emily Lakdwalla
The Planetary Fund

Support enables our dedicated journalists to research deeply and bring you original space exploration articles.

Donate