Join Donate

Emily LakdawallaSeptember 13, 2007

Kaguya launches in less than 8 hours!

...at least if the weather holds, it will!

I'm looking for suggestions on where to find information about the launch of Kaguya. Here's what I've come up with so far. Here's one website that lists several online locations. JAXA's streaming broadvast will be bilingual, but the other media on that page will be in Japanese only.

Here is a frequently updated blog hosted by Mitsubishi Heavy Industries Ltd. According to that wesbite, a "Go/No-Go" decision was held at 01:40 JST (09:40 PDT / 16:40 UTC), and all systems were "Go," with the weather looking good; they are now proceeding with the operations to prepare loading the launch vehicle with liquid hydrogen and oxygen.

I don't see any new images on JAXA's photo archives for the launch; I guess it's in the middle of the night there! Hopefully they will catch some once the Sun rises.

Finally, as I get updates, I'll post anything Cherilynn Morrow manages to send from the launch site to her blog.

UPDATE: Here's a snap from the Tanegashima webcam.

Kaguya on the launch pad

JAXA

Kaguya on the launch pad
At Tanegashima on September 14, 2007 at 03:25 JST

We know you love reading about space exploration, but did you know you can make it happen?

Take our Space Priorities survey and consider a gift to our Space Policy and Advocacy program to fuel more missions, more science, and more exploration.

Read more:

You are here:
Headshot of Emily Lakdawalla (2017, alternate)
Emily Lakdawalla

Senior Editor and Planetary Evangelist for The Planetary Society
Read more articles by Emily Lakdawalla

Comments & Sharing
Mars
Your Space Priorities

Moon or Mars? Low-Earth orbit or deep space? Share your voice for space exploration.

Take Survey

Mars
More Space Exploration

More Missions. More Science. More Exploration. Your support is essential and leads to the joy of discovery.

Donate