Help Shape the Future of Space Exploration

Join The Planetary Society Now  arrow.png

Join our eNewsletter for updates & action alerts

    Please leave this field empty

Casey Profile Picture Thumbnail

Planetary Society Weekly Hangout: Programming in the Sciences

Thursday, Apr 4th at noon PDT/1900 UTC

Posted by Casey Dreier

03-04-2013 14:30 CDT

Topics: explaining science, podcasts and videos, fun, interview

Many scientists never have formal training in programming but are expected to write code for their research. This code is often private, which makes it difficult to verify and test.

Is science affected by this? Should all scientists be required to get formal training in computer science? Should they release their code as open-source software to the public? Are there minimum guidelines for code styles and quality used in the sciences?

We'll talk about this and more with Chase Million, founder of Million Concepts, a company that provides programming consulting to research scientists. From his bio:

Chase Million spent six years on the Pancam team for the Mars Exploration Rovers and four more as the lead software engineer for science operations on the Galaxy Evolution Explorer (GALEX) mission. He has designed, written, and maintained calibration and science analysis software for multiple missions, performed research, and participated in mission design and operations.

Casey Dreier will also provide an update on NASA funding and what to expect when the President proposes his new budget on April 10th.

As always, you can participate and ask questions via Twitter using the hashtag #planetarylive or post comments on the YouTube or G+ Event page.

I will embed the video in this post a few minutes before noon PDT / 3pm EDT / 1900 UTC. If you do not see the video or the video is not streaming correctly, please try reloading the page.

See other posts from April 2013


Or read more blog entries about: explaining science, podcasts and videos, fun, interview


Leave a Comment:

You must be logged in to submit a comment. Log in now.
Facebook Twitter Email RSS AddThis

Blog Search

There's More to Explore!

Double your Impact

Are you coming with us? Support our year-end giving campaign and matching funds will double your impact up to $100,000.

Respond by January 15 to double your impact on space exploration!

Donate Today

Featured Images

Orion ESM test article
LightSail-B on the bench
Blue Origin New Shepard after first landing
New Shepard test flight and booster landing
More Images

Featured Video

MISSIONS: Dawn In The Asteroid Belt With Marc Rayman

Watch Now

Space in Images

Pretty pictures and
awe-inspiring science.

See More

Selfies to Space!

Take flight with a selfie on LightSail™ in 2016!

Send a Selfie Now

Connect With Us

Facebook! Twitter! Google+ and more…
Continue the conversation with our online community!