Help Shape the Future of Space Exploration

Join The Planetary Society Now  arrow.png

Join our eNewsletter for updates & action alerts

    Please leave this field empty
Blogs

Casey Profile Picture Thumbnail

Planetary Society Hangout Thursday, Feb 21st at noon PST. The Sequester at NASA with Jon Morse

Thursday, Feb 21st, at noon PST/3pm EST/20:00 UT

Posted by Casey Dreier

21-02-2013 14:00 CST

Topics:

This week we will be talking about the effects of the impending Sequester, the across-the-board cuts to almost all federal programs, on NASA and the U.S. Space Program. The Sequester is scheduled to begin on March 1st, 2013, unless Congress acts to replace it with targeted cuts and/or revenue of equal value.

Joining me is a very special guest from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, Dr. Jon Morse. Dr. Morse previously served as the Director of NASA's Astrophysics Division in Washington, D.C., and was a Senior Policy Analyst for the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). He currently serves as the Associate Vice President for Research for Physical Sciences & Engineering at RPI.

Dr. Morse will bring a wealth of experience on how last minute budget cuts can effect the direction and capability within NASA, how a division makes decisions to prioritize programs, and what it's like to work for NASA headquarters.

As always, we will be taking your questions on our Google+ event page, Twitter via the hashtag #planetarylive, or on the YouTube comments thread for the video. Please feel free to submit a question in advance if you cannot watch live.

Background Reading:

Since I don't know how best to represent the concept of sequestration with a picture, here's a portrait of William Herschel.

William Herschel (1738-1822)

National Portrait Gallery, London

William Herschel (1738-1822)
Portrait by Lemuel Francis Abbott. Herschel discovered the planet Uranus in 1781.
 
See other posts from February 2013

 

Or read more blog entries about:

Facebook Twitter Email RSS AddThis

Blog Search

JOIN THE
PLANETARY SOCIETY

Our Curiosity Knows No Bounds!

Become a member of The Planetary Society and together we will create the future of space exploration.

Join Us

Featured Images

A fiery liftoff

Delta IV Heavy launches
Expedition 42 crew poster
Soyuz TMA-15M goes vertical
More Images

Featured Video

View Larger »

Space in Images

Pretty pictures and
awe-inspiring science.

See More

Join the New Millennium Committee

Let’s invent the future together!

Become a Member

Connect With Us

Facebook! Twitter! Google+ and more…
Continue the conversation with our online community!